Join The David Bowie email list
Go to cart (0) items [$0.00]
Back to Shop

Click for larger image


David Bowie


Be the first to review this product


Limited 1 x 180g 12" Black vinyl album. One sided. In a box with five Bowie prints.

BOWPROMO was originally pressed in very small quantities in 1971 and features alternate versions of songs that would later be heard on the Hunky Dory album.

This promo-only album originally featured seven songs by David on side A, and five by Dana Gillespie on the flip. It is often being referred to as the BOWPROMO white-label album, as the LP came in generic white outer and inner sleeves and had no printed labels, so its matrix number (BOWPROMO 1A-1/1B-1) was the only way to identify it. The exact number pressed at the time is unknown, but is most certainly less than the 500 figure that is often mentioned in relation to this release.

This Record Store Day one-sided release faithfully replicates the original promo, featuring Bowie's seven tracks plus five exclusive Bowie prints and new sleeve notes about this highly collectable rarity in a special presentation box. The official store is carrying just a few limited copies left over from Record Store Day.

The tracks on BOWPROMO are early / alternate mixes of ‘Oh! You Pretty Things’, ‘Eight Line Poem’, ‘Kooks’, ‘Queen Bitch’, ‘Quicksand’ as well as ‘Bombers / Andy Warhol Intro’ during which the main song develops into an alternate version of the intro to the song ‘Andy Warhol’ as well as Bowie correcting the recording engineer on his pronunciation of ‘Warhol’. Also included is the album version ‘It Ain’t Easy’ which wouldn’t surface until The Rise And Fall Of Ziggy Stardust and The Spiders From Mars.



1. Oh! You Pretty Things (3.18)

2. Eight Line Poem (2.59)

3. Kooks (3.01)

4. It Aint Easy (3.04)

5. Queen Bitch (3.21)

6. Quicksand (5.09)

7. Bombers / Andy Warhol Intro (3.39)


Produced by Ken Scott (assisted by The Actor), mixed by Ken Scott at Trident Studios, London.


David Bowie – vocals, guitar, phased piano

Mick Ronson – guitar, vocal

Trevor Bolder – bass

Woody Woodmansey – drums

Rick Wakeman – piano on Kooks and Quicksand