You Might Also Like

Customer Reviews
Tips for writing a great review:
  • Use the product before reviewing it.
  • Focus on this product and be specific (minimum of 50 characters).
  • Contact Customer Service with any issues not specific to this product.
  • Please see our full review guidelines .
  • Ryan
    May 12, 2020
    Thanks so much for this release. I'm especially grateful you put it out on CD in addition to vinyl and digital. I kind of wish these sort of extra tracks would be part of the period box sets (criminal that the Ryko extras from Low, Heroes, and Lodger weren't part of the New Career in a New Town box, for example, and I'd far prefer to have the bonus tracks from Diamond Dogs like Candidate over two versions of David Live in Who Can I Be Now?). But I'm happy to have this material nonetheless as it helps complete the Bowie story/artistic journey. Release more of these CDs, please, and more broadly. Clearly they will sell out as well, won't they?
  • Gerry Kincaid
    April 7, 2020
    Love the assorted genres on this CD. Very well done. Thanks again David!
  • Bowie since young
    April 6, 2020
    Shirt was great, music was even better. Miss him every day. Encountered him at 12. Still love him @ 59. He’s the soundtrack to my life. Thank you David.
  • Tadd Allman-Morton
    April 3, 2020
    I am always delighted by David’s creativity, and remain so here. While I love almost all of his work I am especially fond of both Station to Station and Earthling, which are both well represented in this EP. All the tracks are solid and add texture to his amazing body of work. My favorite may be the reworking of Stay, but there is much to love here. I only wish we were treated to even more (selfish!) I urge the Bowie crew to re-release it so more can enjoy it!
  • Anthony Monaco
    April 3, 2020
    I am a life-long fan who has followed each of his releases "in real time" since "Aladdin Sane." All new Bowie material is great to have, and there is definitely a spot for this release in my archive. That being said, this is from David's mid-to-late 1990s output, and so you should love it if you are a fan of that period. Personally, I found that era's style a bit too "industrial" and "garish." I respect it, but I have to be in a special mood to listen to it. When I was a teen in the '70's, "Circus Magazine" had a "savory but for special tastes" rating category, and that is where I would place this.
  • paul valadez
    April 3, 2020
    five stars! very nice not too overproduced but really kinda industrial but not that dark
  • michael
    April 3, 2020
    ok, im not going to be as wordy as Ben....its an excellent cd if a little short on tunes....."Stay" totally rips someone stated ' can you imagine it Station to Station was all like that" the mind fries just thinking about it....I miss David so much...its great to hear unreleased gems such as Is it any Wonder....beautiful pictures of an incredible human being that we were so lucky to see and hear.
  • Geoffrey Brunet
    April 3, 2020
    Fantastic sound - more soon, please.
  • Bill Boozy
    April 3, 2020
    This is a great cd! I love the new song arrangements!!!
  • Ben Kenon
    March 27, 2020
    As a lifelong fan of David Bowie I was excited to see new material coming out earlier this year, and I was no less excited to learn the “new” tracks were remakes of older songs. Bowie had a history of wanting to revisit older material that he felt had been overlooked or could have been better. He returned to Space Oddity in 1979 and Panic In Detroit shortly thereafter. He often expressed disappointment with the Never Let Me Down album, and stated more than a few times his desire to remake that album (a wish fulfilled in 2018 with the new version of the album released as part of the Loving The Alien set). In 1999 he decided to re-record a bunch of his 1960’s tracks (along with a couple of new songs) for the as-yet, officially unreleased Toy. (The new songs from that album appeared on Heathen in 2002, while a few of the remakes were officially released elsewhere. When he recorded Earthling Bowie decided to update some older songs. I don’t know how many of the recordings on the Is It Any Wonder E.P. were intended to be released; aside from Baby Universal, they were apparently rehearsal recordings intended to create versions of certain songs that would fit with the newer stuff he was writing with Reeves Gabrels. As such, this is a fascinating collection of songs for die-hard fans, but hardly a must-listen for the general public. The assumption here is that you know the original versions and are interested in hearing how David Bowie reinterpreted them in 1997. “Stay” and “The Man Who Sold The World (Eno Live Mix)” are the standouts here; “Stay“ sounds just as at home here as it does on Station To Station, whereas “TMWSTW” sounds rejuvenated. The Tin Machine tracks “I Can’t Read” and “Baby Universal” are vastly improved over their original versions. “Is It Any Wonder” (featured on the physical release) started as an update to “Fame” before taking a left turn, while “Nuts” sounds like intro music to be played while the band sets up onstage. The acoustic ChangesNow version of TMWSTW is nice to hear, but it does not compare to the live Eno remix mentioned earlier.
© The David Bowie Archive ® Under license to Perryscope Productions LLC/Epic Rights.